Download this News Release as a PDF.

TORONTO, October 16, 2017 — On January 11, 2018, the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame (CMHF) will welcome four industry champions – Ross Beaty, Bob Gannicott, Terry MacGibbon and Ed Thompson – to its prestigious group of 177 mining hall of famers.

For the past 30 years, the CMHF has recognized outstanding achievement in the mining industry, celebrated individual leadership and inspired future generations in mining. Canadians are global leaders in the industry and these four inductees reflect the very best of mining expertise, determination and leadership.

“The Canadian Mining Hall of Fame is proud to recognize these four outstanding individuals for their lasting contributions to the mining industry, both here in Canada and across the globe,” says Bill Roscoe, Canadian Mining Hall of Fame Chair. “Thanks to their leadership, these individuals have been instrumental in growing the sector while enhancing its contributions to society and promoting sustainable development.”

The four inductees will be honoured at the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame’s 30th Annual Dinner and Induction Ceremony on Thursday, January 11, 2018 at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. This premier event is a celebration of Canada’s global mining leadership and the outstanding individuals who have transformed and led the industry to where it is today.

Tickets are now available for purchase: https://mininghalloffame.ca/about/annual_dinner


Ross J. Beaty
Ross Beaty, a geologist with a passion for exploration and a discerning eye for projects with economic potential, is one of Canada’s most successful mining entrepreneurs. Thirteen of his companies, including Equinox Resources and Pan American Silver, have created an estimated $6 billion of shareholder value since 1994. He built his flagship, Pan American Silver, into one of the world’s largest silver producers with seven mines in Latin America. Beaty is also one of the most influential people in the global mining industry for his pragmatic support of environmental causes, ability to build bridges with civil society, and remarkable legacy of philanthropy. Beaty was recently appointed to The Order of Canada.

Robert A. Gannicott
Bob Gannicott, a pioneer of Arctic mineral exploration and a visionary entrepreneur who helped unlock the downstream value of Canada’s fledgling diamond industry, played a pivotal role in the discovery and development of the Diavik mine in the Northwest Territories at the helm of Aber Resources, a 40% owner.  Aber later acquired a diamond retailer and was renamed Harry Winston Diamond Corporation. After sale of the retail business, the company was renamed Dominion Diamond Corporation and acquired an 80% interest in the Ekati mine, which combined with 40% of Diavik, became Canada’s largest independent diamond producer. As a strong advocate for the people and communities of the far north, Gannicott created a foundation to help the Indigenous people of the NWT. He passed away in 2016.

A. Terrance MacGibbon
Terry MacGibbon, a geologist turned company builder and mine developer, is known within the industry as a financially astute entrepreneur, innovator and role model. He applied the expertise and experience gained over a 30-year career with nickel giant Inco – including as an early advocate of the Voisey’s Bay discovery in Labrador – to build four substantial mining companies: FNX Mining, Torex Gold Resources, TMAC Resources and INV Metals. MacGibbon applied his “three Ps of success” — perseverance, patience and passion — to raise billions of dollars of capital, build respectful relationships with stakeholders, and generate employment and economic benefits for local, regional and national economies.

Edward Thompson
Ed Thompson has contributed to the progress and prestige of the Canadian mining industry as an explorer, mine developer, company builder, and dedicated supporter of industry causes and associations. He contributed to the growth of Teck Resources and Lacana Mining (now part of Barrick Gold), and served on the boards of 50 junior companies. In recent years, he championed discoveries in Ontario’s “Ring of Fire” and developed an iron ore mine in Quebec that was acquired by Cliffs Canada for $4.9 billion in 2011. Thompson played a leadership role in the expansion of the Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada (PDAC) into a globally-respected institution, and was a founding member of the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame.

For more information about our Inductees, please visit: https://mininghalloffame.ca/inductees/a-c

About the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame
Founded in 1988 by the Northern Miner, the Mining Association of Canada, the Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada and the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum, the CMHF recognizes outstanding achievement in the mining industry, celebrates individual leadership and inspires future generations in mining. Inductees are selected through a fair, inclusive and accessible process driven by the CMHF Board of Directors and its member associations. For more information, please visit: https://mininghalloffame.ca

T: 1-888-308-8803

Media Contact:
Morgan Murphy, Smithcom Limited
T: 416-629-2143
E: morgan.murphy@smithcom.ca